Brent Safeguarding Adults - Website
Warning symbol

If you think an adult at risk
is suffering abuse or neglect email

Telephone symbol or call 020 8937 4098 / 4099

Go to Safeguarding Children in Brent >>

If you think an adult at risk is suffering abuse or neglect!

Tel: 020 8937 4098 / 4099

Page header image

Types of Abuse

There are many different types of abuse. There may be overlap between the different categories of abuse. Some incidents of abuse may be a crime and require investigation by the Police.

Physical abuse

Including assault, hitting, slapping, pushing, misuse of medication, restraint or inappropriate physical sanctions.

Domestic abuse

Any incident or pattern of incidents of controlling, coercive or threatening behaviour, violence or abuse between those aged 16 or over, who are or have been intimate partners or family members regardless of gender or sexuality. This can encompass but is not limited to the following types of abuse: psychological, physical, sexual, financial, emotional abuse and ‘honour’ based violence.

Sexual abuse

Including rape, indecent exposure, sexual harassment, inappropriate looking or touching, sexual teasing or innuendo, sexual photography, subjection to pornography or witnessing sexual acts, indecent exposure, sexual assault and sexual acts to which the adult has not consented or was pressured into consenting.

Psychological abuse

Including emotional abuse, threats of harm or abandonment, deprivation of contact, humiliation, blaming, controlling, intimidation, coercion, harassment, verbal abuse, cyber bullying, isolation, unreasonable and unjustified withdrawal of services or supportive networks.

Financial or material abuse

Including theft, fraud, internet scamming, coercion in relation to an adult’s financial affairs or arrangements including in connection with wills, property, inheritance or financial transactions and the misuse or misappropriation of property, possessions or benefit.

Modern slavery

This type of abuse encompasses slavery, human trafficking, forced labour and domestic servitude.

Discriminatory abuse

This includes harassment, slurs or similar treatment because of race, gender and gender identity, age, disability, sexual orientation or religion.

Organisational abuse

This includes neglect and poor care practice within an institution or specific care setting such as a hospital or care home, for example, or in relation to care provided in one’s own home.

Neglect and Acts of Omission

This includes ignoring medical, emotional or physical care needs, failure to provide access to appropriate health, care and support or educational services and/or the withholding of the necessities of life, such as medication, adequate nutrition and heating.

Self – neglect

This covers a wide range of behaviour neglecting to care for one’s personal hygiene, health or surroundings and includes behaviour such as hoarding.

Who can abuse or neglect?

Anyone can carry out abuse or neglect, including: